Daniel Adorno

Fantasy Authors Unplugged: An Interview with Daniel Adorno

What’s your background with the fantasy genre and what drew you to begin writing your books?

I grew up reading many fantasy stories and watching various fantasy-themed movies and shows. The books that drew me into the genre the most were J.R.R Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings series. Tolkien is a master storyteller and as a young wannabe writer, I loved the immersive world he created. I knew I couldn’t begin to scratch the surface of something like Middle-Earth, but I still wanted to attempt to create a fantasy world of my own and that’s where the Azuleah series stemmed from.

“Currently I’m working on a new science fiction series”

How old were you when you started writing and when did you first envision the Azuleah series? What was the triggering idea to begin it?

I was 9 years old and in 4th grade when I started writing. After completing a short story assignment for my class, I realized that I really loved to write. My father bought me a typewriter shortly thereafter and I started writing all kinds of stories that will never leave my old desk drawer!

The first moment I envisioned the Azuleah series was when i was learning how to draw of all things. I had purchased a book on drawing manga and anime and one of the “lessons” was to sketch an elf warrior or something. At the time, The Two Towers had recently released in theaters so I had elves and hobbits on the brain! When I finished that poor sketch of an elf warrior, I remember creating a story in my mind about the warrior. And as writers are apt to do, that story needed context and a whole world began to come to life. The rest is history as they say!

It’s interesting that your initial idea came from a drawing. Do you use drawing as a way to stimulate your creativity when writing scenes?

Yes, it actually does. Aside from writing, drawing and graphic design have become regular hobbies of mine. I’ve created many characters from my series digitally in Photoshop and various 3D programs. Sometimes I’ll brainstorm a story idea by creating the characters digitally first and it helps flesh out where that story could go.

You mentioned having all kinds of old stories in a drawer. Do you ever see yourself actually taking these and using them for a book or series?

Not really, no. Many of them are too basic in plot and character development to ever be worth salvaging. I see these stories more as the foundation of where I am today as a writer. I may use elements or characters from them in future stories, but nothing more.

What are your writing plans? What new books or series are in the works?

Currently I’m working on a new science fiction series that will be set in a shared universe with another author. Our hope is to write separate series in the same universe and then do crossovers kind of like what Marvel Studios is doing with their superhero films. To build some momentum for the new series, I’ve decided to write short stories related to the universe and publish them on my blog each month. The first one went up this month.

See Daniel’s Instafreebie Giveaway

I’m sure you have plenty on your site about this new project, but what’s the plot of this new science fiction series?

The story follows a bounty hunter who’s down on her luck and trying to become the best at her trade. When she gets the opportunity to catch a very lucrative bounty, she has to decide whether or not she’s ready to cross certain boundaries and fight off the most notorious hunters in the galaxy. The series will follow our heroine’s exploits as she faces moral dilemmas, rival bounty hunters, and political intrigue in a war-torn universe.

How did you decide to transition to science fiction?

I have always loved science fiction stories and in my mind they are like grounded fantasy stories. After completing the Azuleah trilogy, I wanted to change things up and try my hand at science fiction before I get back into the fantasy genre again.

Have you ever thought about writing outside the speculative genres of science fiction and fantasy?

Yes, I’ve thought about writing historical fiction before. I have a master’s degree in ancient and medieval history so part of me wants to use that knowledge to write about my favorite periods in history.

 

About Daniel Adorno & Links:

Current Instafreebie giveaway: https://claims.instafreebie.com/free/vyANj

Ko-Fi support page: https://ko-fi.com/authordanieladorno

website: http://www.danieladorno.com

“Hi, my name is Daniel and I’m a fantasy/scifi author. Thanks for visiting my website and blog. Here’s a little background on me: I began writing back in 4th grade when my teacher assigned everyone to write a short book with construction paper and crayons. Little did I know then that my award-worthy book on race cars would be the start of my writing career.”

Advertisements

Fantasy Authors Unplugged: Gauntlet of Iniquity by Daniel Adorno

Today, I’m pleased to share a recent book release by Daniel Adorno:

goi-cover-1Gauntlet of Iniquity

A brazen assassination. Two nations on the brink of war. And, a weapon that changes everything…

After an assassination divides the kingdom of Aldron and bolsters the evil Draknoir forces, Lucius travels with a group of Aldronian soldiers on a clandestine mission to retrieve the Gauntlet of Iniquity and turn the tide of war.

But far from being an easy solution, Lucius finds that wielding this powerful weapon comes at a price, and may very well destroy him and his allies.

Gauntlet of Iniquity is the second installment in the Azuleah Trilogy, an epic fantasy series filled with action, adventure, and intrigue. Fans of C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia and John Flanagan’s Ranger’s Apprentice will feel right at home.

Find Gauntlet of Iniquity at your favorite online retailer!

Daniel AdornoAbout the Author

Daniel Adorno is a fantasy and sci-fi author who occasionally blogs about the independent publishing industry. Daniel was born in Puerto Rico and moved to the state of Florida at an early age. He earned his Bachelor’s degree in history at a private Bible college in Minnesota and went on to earn his master’s degree in ancient and classical history. One of his short stories placed him as a finalist for My Faith Radio’s 2013 Writer’s Contest.

When he’s not writing, Daniel likes to read speculative fiction and create digital art for book covers. Daniel currently resides in Farmington, Minnesota with his wife and two sons.

Contact and social media links:
Email: admin@danieladorno.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/lucid_ghost
Facebook: http://facebook.com/danieladrno82
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Daniel-Adorno/e/B00MNMGYNU/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
Website: www.danieladorno.com

Best wishes to Daniel with his new book this year!

 

Fantasy Authors Unplugged: Schedule Re-Cap

This is continuing feature on Archer’s Aim – Fantasy Authors Unplugged. I hope to frequently share an interview with a fantasy author. If you have authors to suggest and/or questions you’d like to see answered then leave a comment or send me an email. If you are a fantasy author and would like an interview please let me know and we’ll plan one that fits your schedule.

Archer’s Aim Digest mailing list

There’s no one on the schedule this week for Fantasy Authors Unplugged so here’s a recap of the last several months of authors:

At the end of April, Tamie Dearen shared about her YA fantasy novel, Alora: The Wander Jewel

cover_bundle_700For May, the following authors appeared on Archer’s Aim for Fantasy Authors Unplugged:

Michael Davies – Path of the Warrior which has since been released.

Carol Marrs Phipps shared, Doom, the latest title in The Heart of the Staff series

Harmony Kent also appeared for her book, Elemental Earth.

Last in May, Nicholas Rossis was interviewed for Virgil – the third book of his Pearseus series

June was also a busy month with fantasy writers:

First up was Ryan Doughan sharing Mist Falcon.

C. P. Bialois appeared and discussed his writing including The Winter Creek Hunter.

CLB Low RezDavid Gilchrist also made an appearance for his book,Tapasya.

And rounding out the month was Matt Grawitch with his Rise of the Dead Magic.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16,601 other followers

July was equally busy with five fantasy authors interviewed:

Chris Kennedy lead off the month with Can’t Look Back.

J. S. Burke appeared the next week with The Dragon Dreamer.

Jason Link paid Archer’s Aim a visit with his book, The Legender.

Jason Hein shared his first book of The Varsian Kingdom: A Rise to Fall.

TKC-283x400And last week, Daniel Adorno made his second appearance for which releases today.

All of the authors did a great job with their interviews. I appreciated them all taking time out of their busy schedules to answer questions. I hope all the readers will take a look at these authors and consider supporting their writing efforts.

If you’re a fantasy author and would like to be interviewed for “Fantasy Authors Unplugged” just contact me via email or one of my social media channels and we’ll set one up.

Please share your thoughts and ideas in the comments section. Sign up for my Archer’s Aim Digest mailing list to receive the forthcoming edition of my newsletter with announcements about upcoming releases and events. You’ll receive my a SPECIAL coupon for The Bow of Destiny if you sign-up by 10/4. You’ll also be the first to have news about my books, especially some free offers this summer related to the upcoming release of The Bow of Destiny, the first novel of The Bow of Hart Saga. Speaking of which, it is now available LIVE on Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iBooks & Amazon – Kindle. Additionally, September’s FREE book, What Is Needed is available at Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iBooks and Smashwords & Amazon.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16,601 other followers

The Bow of Destiny Trading Knives 1 What Is Needed 4

Black Bag Cover 7

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16,601 other followers

Privacy Policy

This blog does not share personal information – including email addresses – with third parties nor do I store any information about your visit to this blog other than to analyze and optimize your content and reading experience through the use of cookies (which is a WordPress.com function and not mine).

You can turn off the use of cookies at any time by changing your specific browser settings.

I am not responsible for republished content from this blog on other blogs or websites without our permission.

This privacy policy is subject to change without notice and was last updated on July 2nd, 2015. If you have any questions feel free to contact me directly here: ph at phsolomon.com (replace the “at” with @, it’s written that way to avoid spammers).